Trending Topics:

Top 20 Local Govts with COVID-19 Cases

Eleven of the 20 local government areas that account for 60 percent of COVID-19 cases are in Lagos State, a Nigeria Centre for Disease Control’s (NCDC’s) report has shown.

The report, which was obtained at the weekend, showed Lagos Mainland council had the highest number (1,274) of COVID-19 cases. Nigeria has 774 local government areas.

Trailing Lagos Mainland are Abuja Municipal council with 536 cases, Mushin Local Government Area in Lagos (458), Eti-Osa Local Government Arae in Lagos (403) and Tarauni in Kano State (248).

According to the NCDC report, 62,583 samples had been tested as at May 30 and about 10,023 contacts of positive patients had been followed up till date.

The report said 7,276 confirmed cases (74 per cent) have unknown sources of exposure, giving credence to heightened community transmission.

The report was posted before the national tally shot up to 10,162 after the NCDC confirmed 307 new cases on Sunday night

The Male accounted for 67 per cent of the cases and female 33 per cent.

As at Monday, only Cross River State had not recorded a confirmed COVID-19 case.

The report put the Cases Fatality Rate (CFR) at three per cent.

The 20 councils and the number of cases are: Mainland (1,274), Abuja Municipal (536), Mushin (458), Eti-Osa (403), Tarauni (248), Katsina (242), Alimosho (239), Maiduguri (167), Kosofe (175), Dutse (170), Ikeja (168), Nassarawa (152), Oshodi/Isolo (132), Apapa (131), Amuwo Odofin (129), Oredo (126), Bauchi (114), Lagos Island (111), Surulere (110) and Ado Odo/Ota (107).

Four hundred and sixteen fresh COVID-19 cases were announced in 19 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on Monday night by the NCDC

The new cases took the national tally to 10, 578.

According to the NCDC, 3, 122 patients have so far been discharged and 299 deaths recorded.

Lagos, the epicentre of the Coronavirus pandemic, recorded 192 cases.

Other states are: Edo (41); Rivers (33); Kaduna (30); Kwara (23); Nasarawa (18); Borno (17); FCT (14); Oyo (10); Katsina (seven); five each in Abia and Delta; Adamawa and Kano (four each); Imo and Ondo (three each); two each in Benue, Bauchi and Ogun and a case in Niger.

Follow by Email