Trending Topics:

Senate constitutes 7-member committee for Electoral Act Amendment, appoints Abdullahi Yahaya as head

The Senate has constituted a seven-member conference committee to meet with the House of Representatives team to iron out the contentious aspects of the Electoral Act (amendment) Bill.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, who announced this on Wednesday, also appointed Abdullahi Yahaya as the head of the committee.

Other members of the Senate committee are, Kabiru Gaya (North-West), Ajibola Basiru (South-West), Danjuma Goje (North-East), Uche Ekwunife (South-East), Sani Musa (North-Central), and Mathew Urhoghide (South-South).

It was gathered that out of the seven members, only one of them (Urhoghide) voted in support of the electronic transmission of results when there was a division on the issue.

Ekwunife was unavailable to cast her vote while the remaining four voted against the electronic transmission of results until the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) got approval from the Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC) and the National Assembly.